10 Lesser Known Facts About Goddess Lakshmi

  • 10 Jun 2019

Goddess Lakshmi is the goddess of wealth, fortune, power, luxury, beauty, fertility, and auspiciousness. She provides happiness, material fulfilment, and contentment to her devotees.

She is the wife of Lord Vishnu who is the Supreme God in Vaishnavism, and is described as restless, whimsical yet maternal, with her arms raised to bless and to grant.

For centuries Hindus have invoked her and sought for her blessing. Here are some of the lesser-known facts about her:

1. Goddess Lakshmi's four hands represent the four goals to be aspired in a Hindus life – Dharma, Kama, Artha, and Moksha.

2. In the artworks and sculptures of Goddess Lakshmi, the coins represents wealth, which she is most known for. The elephants represent royal power.

3. Although she is the Goddess of Wealth, she will not respond to greed and arrogance. She had once abandoned the Gods when she felt they had took for granted the victories in the battles they won against the demons. They were victorious only through her presence and blessings. She was later found during the churning of the milky sea.

4. Each time Vishnu is incarnated, she reincarnates with him. This depicts her love and devotion towards her husband. She was Sita while Vishnu the incarnation of Rama and Lakshmana. Her other important incarnation was that of Radha when Vishnu incarnated as Krishna.

5. She is also called "The Goddess who Gives Strength to the Gods".

6. The lotus she stands on represents material wealth, like the lotus, it grows from muddy water, but does not get wet.

7. Some of her names associated with the Lotus flower are Srija, Kamala, Padma, and Padmapriya.

8. The marriage and relationship between Lakshmi and Vishnu are the benchmark for the rituals and ceremonies for the bride and groom in Hindu weddings.

9. The red saree she wears represents activity and positive energy. The owl is the vahana or vehicle of Goddess Lakshmi.

10. The Ashta Lakshmi are the eight manifestos of Lakshmi which reside over eight sources of wealth and thus represent the powers of Mahalakshmi.

Source: Vedic Feed
Photo Credit: AwaazNation, 

Suggested Articles

Indian-Ancient-Food-Practices-That-We-Still-Follow Lifestyle
  • 15 Dec 2019

Indian Ancient Food Practices That We Still Follow

In the rise and fall of civilizations, food habits have played a major role.

Watch-Karthigai-Deepam-Celebration-LIVE-From-Thiruvannamalai Lifestyle
  • 10 Dec 2019

Watch Karthigai Deepam Celebration LIVE From Thiruvannamalai

Thiruvannamalai temple is believed to be the sacred temple which symbolizes fire and have the grandest Kathigai Deepam celebration!

The-Great-Story-Behind-Karthigai-Deepam Lifestyle
  • 10 Dec 2019

The Great Story Behind Karthigai Deepam!

Most Hindu festivals celebrate the triumph of light over darkness. Karthigai Deepam is one of such significant festivals that is celebrated in Tamil Nadu and Kerala.