Narendra Modi To Return As PM?

  • 23 May 2019
  • Tags:

India's incumbent Prime Minister Narendra Modi of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) set to retain the his hold on power after taking a commanding lead in India's highly anticipated General Election 2019.

The party has to win at least 272 out of 543 total parliamentary seats to form the government. As of 3:45pm (Malaysia time), BJP is leading with 277 seats.

As for Tamil Nadu, this is the first election after the passing of former AIADMK (All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam) leader Jayalalithaa and DMK (Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam) leader Karunanidhi. 

Check the election's LIVE updates here:

Meanwhile, Astro is bringing Sun News (Ch204), a brand new channel from now until 26th May to give you the LIVE updates and insights of the Indian election results.

Source: IndianExpress and NYTimes
Image credit: IndiaToday